top of page
Writer's pictureCheryl Dietz

Convert Handwritten Recipe to SVG Cut File


I love making beautiful tea towels using family recipes written by family members. This is my favorite item to make in my etsy shop. It is definitely not a simple task, but the outcome is amazing.

1. Start out with the handwritten recipe. Here is what my recipe originally looked like.


Original on right

2. I scanned this copy to my computer.

Scanned copy on computer.

3. I use Adobe Illustrator to edit all of my recipes and photos. Open your photo in Illustrator.


4. Go to 'Effect' - 'Sketch' - then 'Photocopy'



5. Next click Image Trace



6. Click Expand



7. Next click on the object. Delete and if the white areas behind the path(words).


8. This is how the image will look once any background has been deleted.

9. Finally, delete any stray marks or other words that you don’t want.



10. Save your work as a SVG or whatever file type you would like.



Thanks for checking out my page. My next tutorial will include placing the traced recipe on a flour sack towel and pillow. These are both great gifts for that special loved one.

Visit my Etsy shop to purchase. www.littlestlovehandmade.etsy.com








1,160 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page